Pink beanie for Elisa

My friends are going to celebrate their 65th wedding anniversary at the end of this month, and because I love them so much and admire the longevity of their marriage I decided to make them both a matching beanie, guy and girl version. It’s really cold right now and they love to wear hats when they go out, so I think it will be a useful gifts they can wear to keep them warm.

I just finished Elisa’s beanie, and I am very happy about it. I looked online for some patterns and fell in love with the red bulky skullcap, by Birdeli. It’s a free pattern you can download as a PDF file. The design of this beanie is really cool, and easy to make. This pattern ask for a category 5 Bulky weight yarn, so I picked Charisma, by Loops & Threads, Think Pink color. I also had to buy a 10mm hook, I never worked with a hook that large before!

Pink crochet beanie

I didn’t make any change to the pattern, except that I added two more rows of DC after row 8 because it was a little bit too short on the ears. So I ended up with 13 rows instead of 11. I guess the result depends on the yarn you work with, so I think that the best thing to do is try it on your head as you go.

Pink Crochet Beanie with flower

Because my friend love flowers I crocheted one instead of sewing a button on the hat. I love the vintage feel of this beanie, I cannot wait to give it to  her, and I am really tempted to make one for myself!

I really recommend this pattern, I will definitely use it again. Next, David’s beanie!

Happy crocheting!

Leave a comment