Jimin Set Me Free Doll, fan art contest

I am a bit behind on my blog because I have been busy with so many projects for the past month. So I will try to post about everything I have done in the following weeks.

I took part in a fan art contest last month, it was a very sudden and last-minute decision so I only had a few days to complete it. The competition was to create a fan art piece based on the release of Jimin’s album (one of the members of BTS). I wanted to take part in it but since I couldn’t come up with any creative ideas I almost gave up until I saw the music video which was released three days before the deadline of the contest.

Luckily, I had a body/base in my storage box that I had crocheted to test one of the patterns I sell on ETSY, which saved me some time since I only had three days to complete it.

I used my Cricut Joy machine to cut the words of the poems tattooed on its chest. I was worried it wouldn’t work because the letters are so small but I was able to figure it out. The hardest part was to iron the vinyl under the head, so it took several trials to make it stick. I was really happy it worked out because the tattoo is the main focus of the doll.

I didn’t win the fan art contest, but I am still happy that I was able to participate because I really love this doll. If you are interested, the pattern for the body/base can be found on my ETSY.

Leave a comment