Amigurumi, how to sew parts together

2014 is just around the corner and I am trying to put my mind back into crochet now that the holidays are almost over. I thought a tutorial would be the best way to return into my daily routine, so today I am posting one about stitching amigurumi pieces together.

For this tutorial, I am using a dummy I made just for the occasion. I crocheted a basic head, body, arms and legs, and left a long tail for sewing.

Leave a long tail for sewing on each of the parts, except for the head
Mr Dummy

Head and body
I will start with the head and body. Insert the thread of the body into a yarn needle, and start weaving the stitches of both parts together all the way around:

amigurumi head and body
Make sure the head and body both have the same numbers of stitches on the last row to sew them evenly.
Insert the needle into both stitches and pull, continue all the way arou nd.
Insert the needle into both stitches and pull, continue all the way around.

Once the hole is closed, insert the needle into the neck and pull it out where the second piece of thread is located. Make a tight double knot, and hide the left over threads into the body:

Make sure you pull out the thread in same hole as the othe
This is a method to secure your work once the sewing is done
Make sure you reinsert the needle into the same stitch you made the knot. When you pull on the
Make sure you reinsert the needle into the same stitch you made the knot when you hide the thread into the body. Cut the remaining thread with scissors

Arms:
Now I will sew the arms to the body. The number of stitches doesn’t matter in this case, just make sure you do not stuff the top of the arms too much:

the stitches of the arms will be sewed together when you start joining it with the body.
Before sewing the arm
Continue to sew until all of the arm is joined to the body
Continue the process until all of the arm is joined to the body

Once you are done sewing, you can insert your needle into the body and pull the yarn out on the other side, or the back:

Do not cut the left over yarn, it will be used to secure the arms together
Do not cut the left over yarn, it will be used to secure the arms together

Now do the same with the second arm. Pull the thread of yarn in the same location as the first one once you are done sewing:

This is the same method I used to secure the body and head together
This is the same method I used to secure the body and head together
When you pull the thread, the knot will disappear inside the body
When you pull the thread, the knot will disappear inside the body

Legs:
Use the same method as the arms, using the stitches at the bottom of the body to sew the legs. Secure the legs together the same way as well:

Sewing the legs on the body
Sewing the legs on the body

Voila! the dummy with its arms and legs put together. I hope you enjoyed this tutorial, and most importantly, that it make sense! If you have any questions, or if there is anything you do not understand, please do not hesitate to ask me.

I put eyes on him to make him look more..uh... human!
I put eyes on him to make him look more..uh… human!

Note: There is another method to sew the legs on the body, but I will save that tutorial for next time. In the mean time, happy crocheting and happy new year!

Leave a comment