Flower brooches

I love crocheted flowers, they are pretty and easy to make. Not long ago I found a really cool pattern for a beanie that included a separate pattern for a flower, and I decided to use that pattern to make a couple of brooches.

Crochet brooches
Brooches I made with Brittany’s pattern

The pattern is called Crocodile Stitch Flower, by Brittany from B.HookedCrochet. I followed the same instructions, but I used a G/4mm hook, and only made 60 stitches in the chain instead of 80. I didn’t want the brooch to be too large.

To embellish the flower, I used beads I found at the floral section of the craft store, some felt, and bar pins I bought at Michaels. I love these pins, they have a plastic top that makes it easier to glue on the brooch.

I picked floral beads, but any kind of beads would work.
I picked floral beads, but any kind of beads would work.

Once I crocheted the flower, I rolled it using a glue gun instead of sewing. I found it much easier that way, but if you prefer embroidery, then that would work as well.

Rolling the flower
Glue the edge of the flower bits by bits as your roll.
Back and front of the flower after your rolled it
Back and front of the flower after I rolled it

Once I finished rolling the flower, I flattened it with my hands to give it its shape. I Glued the bead in the center front, then cut a circle in some felt (I picked blue to coordinate with the color of the flower), then glued it on the back. to finish the brooch, I glued the pin on top of the felt, and voila!

Shape of the flower once it is flattened. Glue some felt in the back to hold the pin.
Shape of the flower once it is flattened. Glue some felt in the back to hold the pin.
The back of the flower brooches.
The back of the flower brooches.

This is a very easy to make, and the result is lovely. I use these brooches to pin on my beanie, my scarf, or a sweater.

Another cool thing about this pattern, you can use the base to make a collar instead of a flower. All you would have to do is add stitches in the chain to have enough edge to go around your top.

Crocodile Stitch Pattern to make a collar
Crocodile Stitch Pattern to make a collar

I hope you enjoyed this post, and that it will inspire you to make your own crochet brooches and accessories. It can be a lot of fun!

Happy crocheting!

Leave a comment