Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Hippo Hippo

Posted on: March 1, 2017

Do you know this song? “I want a hippopotamus for Christmas, Only a hippopotamus will do, Don’t want a doll, No dinky tinker toy, I want a hippopotamus to play with and enjoy”

img_7691

Well, it’s not Christmas anymore, but one can wish for a hippo all year long! I was looking for ideas for baby showers and small gifts easy to make, so I made this hippo and wrote a pattern that I have made available on my ETSY Shop

IMG_7687.jpg

As usual I used acrylic yarn, and a small hook to make the stitches really tight. He is only 6 inch and fits in the palm of my hand. I think he turned out really cute! All he needs now is a puddle of water to splash in it.

IMG_7679.jpg

I really enjoy making small animals, I have a lion, an elephant, a monkey and now a cute hippo with big dorky eyes. My next project is a giraffe, soon enough I will be able to open a zoo!

3 Responses to "Hippo Hippo"

That is so cute!!! I wish that I had the patience to make it… whenever I try to make amigurumi, I always have the wrong number of stitches when working in the round on the body, and am too frustrated to make any of the other parts when I am done haha
I’m going to ask my friend to make this for me (LOL)
you know that you can sell this – for alot!! xxx

Aawww, you know, when I started crocheting Amigurumi I was in the same shoes. Couldn’t get the number of stitches right etc… and the results didn’t look as nice as the original. I gave up for a while, then tried again after taking a break. I realized that I was aiming too high trying to crochet teddy bears and such, so I started again with really simple and easy projects, like an apple.

Thats a good idea – maybe I should try again in a bit! :)xx

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

