Miss Dolkapots Krafties

How to make eyes with felt

Posted on: October 1, 2016

My previous post was about a Chibi doll I made that required large manga eyes. It was my first time trying that style, and since I had to figure out how to make them I thought it would be nice to share a tutorial to show you how I did it. It turned out to be very simple!

gweneyes

Before starting on the eyes, I spent some time browsing through images of manga eyes to find a design I liked that would be easy to replicate with felt.  My doll had black eyes so I used felt in the following colors: black, dark brown, and white. I also used scraps of black yarn to embroider the top edges. If your doll has blue eyes, use the blue instead of dark brown.

You will need really good scissors to cut the felt, preferably small ones to cut the small pieces. I bought two pairs at the craft store, one large and one small, and they come very handy!

img_7013

  • Cut two ovals shapes with black felt, the size will depend on the head. You can start with large ovals and cut them down until you are happy with the size. Mine were about 1.5 inches because the head of my doll was quite large.
  • Next you will cut two small circles using white felt, and two rounded croissant shapes with brown felt.
  • Finally, cut two triangles with your white felt for the corner of the eyes. Curve them at the bottom to fit the shape of the side of your eyes.

IMG_7019.jpg

Glue the pieces together (except for the white triangles). Glue  your eyes to the head, then glue the triangles on each side of the eyes (I used a glue gun, it holds the pieces really well together).

With a long strand of black yarn, embroider from top to side on each eyes just once.

img_6996

That is it! You can even glue some eyelashes to make her look even cuter. I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial, and if you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask me in the comments.

Happy crocheting!!!

3 Responses to "How to make eyes with felt"

What type of glue do you use that actually holds up? And does it hold up through machine washing on delicate?

Hi! oh I forgot to mention that. I used a small glue gun (low heat). It does hold up very well, also through washing machine. I made a post a while ago about washing dolls in washing machine if you want to check it out: https://missdolkapots.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/can-you-machine-wash-your-amigurumi-dolls/

[…] via How to make eyes with felt — Miss Dolkapots Krafties […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 336 other followers

