Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Fan Art

Posted on: August 19, 2016

If I had to make a list of things I love to do it would pick in no particular order: crocheting, reading books, watching movies, listening to music, and playing video games. Since crochet is my main hobby, I thought it would be cool to combine it with my other hobbies by incorporating all my favorite characters from diverse venues into my craft. I started on Fan Art projects a few years ago, and I can’t say that my first attempt was great but it allowed me to improve my crochet techniques in the process.

Today I am displaying my favorites. They represent my passion for stories and their characters that inspired me to pick up my yarn. Fan Art is a way to pay homage to the things you love, a form of expression.

Star Wars
Let me say that there is life before Star Wars, and life after Star Wars. These movies got me into science fiction when I was a kid, I spent my entire childhood dreaming about space travel, I still do.

DSCN2538
This little Jedi was one of the first Fan Art I successfully made, I spent an entire weekend crocheting the base, undoing and redoing rows until I was happy with the result. The most challenging part was the coat, I had never crocheted clothes before. I raided the garage to find something remotely similar to a lightsaber until I found a little piece of hardware in a box or random things. I absolutely love him!

World of Warcraft
I started playing World of Warcraft when the first expansion was released 9 years ago. I absolutely love that game, even though I hardly have enough time to play these days because it is time consuming. Raiding dungeons with friends on Saturday night was more fun than going out to a club or a bar. The prospect of getting some epic gear was more exciting than getting a glass of the finest beer.

DSCN8997c
I crocheted this Tauren at the suggestion of a friend who wanted to see if I was up to the challenge. Challenge it was! I had no idea how I was going to do it, and it took me one month to finish it. Patience is the key, to not give up is the reward!

The Walking Dead
One of my favorite TV series is The Walking Dead, I have been following it religiously since the beginning. I am a big fan of Daryl Dixon, and if he dies, I riot!

DSCN8261c
This is the first doll I made with wires inside the body, it allowed me to bend his arms to hold his crossbow, and pose him. I also used metal wire to make the weapon that I wrapped with yarn. He does has his wings on the back of his jacket, never forget the trademark.

Frida Kahlo
I didn’t know very much about Frida’s life until I watched a movie about her life years ago. I have great admiration for her work, and who she was. She lived a short but unapologetic life driven by art and bohemia, she was a force of nature. I love the way she dressed, she had a unique style that was part of the inspiration to make this doll.

DSCN8095
Making this doll was a lot of fun, especially dressing her up. I think this is the first time I used the help of a sewing machine, and fabric. I also put wires in the arms to pose them, but not the legs since they are hidden by the dress. I think she turned out really cute, my little Frida Kahlo.

Chrono Trigger
I love role-playing games since the days of Dungeons and Dragons, show me one and I will forget about anything else, even dinner. Crono is from a classic 90s video game called Chrono Trigger, a very likable but silent character with red spiky hair.

IMG_4178b
Even though this was an easy doll to make it took a lot of patience to crochet all the pieces for the hair. I embroidered them to the head, and used hairspray to keep them from curling. I didn’t emphasized any details since the character is pixelated in the game, but just enough to make him recognizable.

Where the Wild Things Are
This book has everything I love about children stories, but who doesn’t love it? Max is a beloved character, and I love his wolf costume that inspired me to make this doll.

DSCN3636
This is one of my most adorable Fan Art project.  I crocheted the tail with acrylic yarn, then used a metallic brush to simulate fur. I couldn’t find an appropriate crown, so I bought some gold paper at the craft store that I cut in the shape of a crown, and added felt to go around it. I also used felt for the claws. I think he turned out really cute with his little whiskers which you can barely see on the picture by the way. I would like very much to make one of the monsters someday, when I have the time.

Star Wars – The Old Republic
Last but not least… This is a video game I was very excited about when it came out. It takes place long before Luke Skywalker was born, one of the many stories of the Star Wars Expanded Universe (you would need an encyclopedia to keep up with all of them). I played it on one of my friend’s computer where I picked a cute little Jawa named Blizz as a companion character. I completely fell in love with it, even though it is as lethal as it is cute with his blaster gun!

blizz5
One of the challenges with this doll was the head. It is supposed to be hidden under the hood, so you are only supposed to see the eyes in a dark shadow. I managed to achieve that effect by making the head black, and adding yellow felt that I painted with fluorescent fabric paint. It was also my first time making a hood, it took several trials and errors to get it right. The side band was cut from a piece of vinyl, which turned out not to be the best material to work with because it doesn’t hold glue very well. I found a way around it but my advice is to avoid it if you need to use glue!

Do you like Fan Art? What are your favorite characters you have made, or would love to crochet? Let me know if the comments!

 

Note: I do not have patterns for any of these amigurumi dolls, I usually improvise and take notes along the way when I need to repeat a technique, but that’s about it.

9 Responses to "Fan Art"

Hola! I’m a Frida Fan since? not even remember when and how. Love your work and your Frida Doll is amazing. I crochet Frida dolls too, but not as amazing as yours.

Have a great weekend.

Sincerely,
Silvia 🙂

Hi Silvia, thank you for the nice comment, but I am sure your dolls are great. Glad to hear from another Frida fan! Have a great weekend as well! 🙂

Chrono is so cute! How awesome.

Thank you 🙂 Love your little Kirby avatar by the way 🙂

Have you ever made a pattern or your tauren? I would love to make him. Even if its not a perfectly finished pattern it would get me going in the ight direction. Your work is amazing!

Hi Amanda, thank you for your comment! Unfortunately, I do not have a pattern. I made his Tauren two years ago, and I did take notes along the way to keep track of my rows but unfortunately I do not have them anymore. I really regret losing them because this was probably my most challenging work and I do not think I would be able to replicate the Tauren without them.

That is most unfortunate! Keep crocheting! You make wonderful works of art. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other followers

