Miss Dolkapots Krafties

A doll named Olivia

Posted on: March 17, 2016

My obsession with dolls is far from over, in fact I am just getting started. Recently, the daughter of a friend of mine showed me an app called Chibi Maker on the DeviantArt site that allows you to create your own custom doll. We played with it a lot, picking hairstyles, face expressions, dress and shoes, and accessories. I had so much fun with it that it gave me the idea to use it as an inspiration for my amigurumis.

So here is Olivia, based on the chibi I had created on that app. I didn’t make it exactly the same, but the outfit and shoes are very similar to the graphic version.

IMG_5877

I named her Olivia because she remind me of a little girl I know with similar big black almond shape eyes. I used felt, yarn, and safety eyes to make them. The chibi from the app has a different set of eyes, but I liked this better for this particular doll.

IMG_5864

IMG_5860

She is quite small compared to the other dolls I have made in the past, half the size of the other ones, about 7 inch tall. I think I will keep my dolls as small in the future, they are easier to handle.

IMG_5866

I didn’t put any wires in her body, it wasn’t necessary since I had no intention to give her any poses. I am very happy with my little Olivia doll, I think she turned out really cute with her little flowers in her hair. This is what I really like about crocheting dolls, the little props and accessories you can add to them, it’s so much fun!

IMG_5876.jpg

I think my next doll will be similar but goth style. I have always wanted to make a creepy cute doll, now is the time.

If you are interested in playing with the Chibi app for your own projects, or just to have fun with it, here is the link on DeviantArt: Chibi-Maker.

A big thank you to Lilly for giving me the idea of using that app to create my own dolls. You rock!

 

 

4 Responses to "A doll named Olivia"

Wow your doll is so cute! I just wanted to know whether u sew the arms on or crochet them together with the shoulders?

Hi Khadijah, thank you! I sew the arms on, I find it easier that way.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 347 other followers

