Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Butterfly little lady – Spring inspiration

Posted on: March 1, 2016

Spring is my favorite season of the year, everything feels new, fresh, and inspiring. It makes me want to buy flowers, plants to decorate my empty yard. I don’t have a green hand, and I am the worst gardener in the world, but I always manage to convince myself that I can do it every time Spring comes around. This year I have turned my inspiration away from greeneries to focus on what I do best, crochet. Lately I have been obsessed with dolls, fairies, and angels. I got this urge to do crochet one of my own, so I dropped everything I was doing to start on a Spring inspired doll.

IMG_5658

So this is what I have been working on for the last two weeks. Some crafters like to draw before they take on a project, but I don’t have that skill. I usually get an idea into my head and let it grow from there. I improvise, and if I am not happy with the result, I undo the last rows. Needless to say that I had quite a few adjustments along the way.

IMG_5654

I inserted wires in the body because I really wanted to give her this pose with a butterfly. I found them at the flowers section of the craft store, they are about one inch. I was going to glue them on the doll, but I changed my mind at the last minute because I would like to be able to replace them if they break.

IMG_5647

The hair was made with threads of yarn that I brushed, then straighten with my flat iron to thin them out. Afterward, I sew them on top of the head, and played hairdresser with a pair of scissors.

IMG_5634

I love my little Spring doll, I think she turned out really cute. I haven’t given her a name yet, but I am going to ask one of my friends daughter to pick one for me.

IMG_5638

Now it’s time for a little break, but I am not quite done with my doll obsession yet. I am dying to make a little Chibi, and I think once I have a little time on my hand I will start that project.

Looking at other people’s craft is what inspire me everyday, and I hope these photos of my little Spring doll will inspire you as well!

Happy crocheting!

6 Responses to "Butterfly little lady – Spring inspiration"

She is so pretty! I can’t wait to see more of your work!

Precious. I love the wee poses, and the fact that its outside….its just all so precious. Sorry if i overuse that word.
J’adore!

Thank you so much! I am glad you used the word precious, when I started on this doll that was the goal I wanted to achieve. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 342 other followers

