Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Heart applique

Posted on: February 5, 2016

Since we are coming close to Valentine’s day I decided to post a quick and easy tutorial for last minute Valentine’s day ideas. I am starting today with a heart applique that you can use for your crochet projects, or to follow the next two tutorials I am going to post in the next days. From heart applique to heart coasters, and from heart coaster to keychain. These will be really fun to make!

IMG_5174

This heart applique will take you no time at all. I was able to make 5 in half an hour time. For this you will need a G/4mm hook, and some regular 4/worsted yarn of your choice.

IMG_5184

Abbreviations:
sc = single crochet
hdc = half double crochet
dc = double crochet
sl st = slip stitch
tr = treble

Heart Pattern:
To start, make 2 st in a chain
Row 1: 2 sc in second stitch from hook (2)
ch 1, turn
Row 2: 2 sc in second stitch from hook, 2 sc in last stitch (4)
ch 1, turn
Row 3: 2 sc in second stitch from hook, 2 sc, 2 sc in last stitch (6)
ch 1, turn
Row 4: 2 sc in second stitch from hook, 4 sc, 2 sc in last stitch (8)
ch 1, turn
Row 5 to 6: sc in each stitch of the row (8)
ch 1, turn
Row 7: 3 sc, 2 sc in next stitch, 4 sc (9)
ch 1, turn
Row 8: 1 sc, 1 dc, 1 tr, 2 tr + 1 hdc in next stitch, 1 sl st, 1 hdc + 2 tr in next stitch, 1 tr, 1 dc, 1 sc (12)
Do not turn, continue to sc down the side. Make 1 sc, ch 1 and 1 sc in last st at the bottom, then continue to sc on the other side. Finish at the beginning or row 8 with a sl st (do not sc the top of the heart).

heartmontage

As easy as that, and so much fun. My next post will be to make a set of coasters with these appliques, perfect for a last minute Valentine’s day gift. Stay tune, and happy crocheting!

IMG_5189

IMG_5190

6 Responses to "Heart applique"

[…] Valentine’s day, Part 1 -Heart applique […]

Very pretty but I’m on this round and there’s a stitch missing. Round 7 has 9 stiches, but this one we’re only crocheting into 8.

Row 8: 1 sc, 1 dc, 1 tr, 2 tr + 1 hdc in next stitch, 1 sl st, 1 hdc + 2 tr in next stitch, 1 tr, 1 sc (12)

Hello, and thank you for bringing it to my attention. I forgot to write the 1 double crochet before the last sc. So this is how it should be:
Row 8: 1 sc, 1 dc, 1 tr, 2 tr + 1 hdc in next stitch, 1 sl st, 1 hdc + 2 tr in next stitch, 1 tr, 1 dc, 1 sc (12)

I also corrected in in my post. Thank you and happy crocheting!

Awesome. I figured that’s what stitch was missing. I posted the heart on Instagram and mentioned your web page but couldn’t find your name to tag you there. Are you on Instagram? I also wanted to mention since I saw you glue googly eyes on one of your patterns (elephant) that i found some SEW ON googly eyes at Hobby Lobby last week. I don’t use those kinds of eyes often since most things I put eyes on are bigger stuffed amigurumi, but they are perfect for appliques and such. I’d never seen them before anywhere! Thanks for the patterns!

oh thanks! I do have an Instagram but I don’t use it specifically for my craft, even though I do put crochet pics every once in a while. I will have to go to Hobby Lobby, I have never seen any, and I would definitely buy some. Are they in the same isle as the googly eyes? That’s awesome and thanks for telling me about it. 🙂

Yes by the eyes. I got 10, 18 and 25 mm ones. And you’re very welcome!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 346 other followers

