Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Little Pig Pattern

Posted on: September 16, 2015

Oink! Oink! Here is a little pig right out of the yarn farm. He is very easy to make, anybody  will fall for its cuteness! I had several requests for a pig pattern so today I am posting one to make you own Mr Piggy.

Pig Amigurumi

This plush is about 5 inch in length (13cm). I used Red Heart Super Saver in pink, and a 2.75mm hook. Here is the list of material you will need:

Materials:
– 1 medium/4 worsted yarn – pink
– 2.75mm hook
– 6mm safety eyes, black
– Polyester fiberfill for stuffing
– Yarn needle
– Embroidery thread, black
– Pins
– Ribbon of choice (I used grey)
– Stitch marker (to mark end of each row)

Abbreviations:
ch = chain
rnd = round
sc = single crochet
inc = increase
dec = decrease
st = stitch
sl st = slip stitch
BLO = back loop only

Note:
This amigurumi is crocheted in continuous spirals without joining the rounds.

– THE PATTERN –

HEAD/BODY (start at nose):
With pink yarn, make a magic ring
Rnd 1: 6 sc in center of the ring (6)
Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st around (12)
Rnd 3: [1 sc, inc] 6 times (18)
Rnd 4: sc in each st around, BLO (18)
Rnd 5 to 6: sc in each st around (18)
Rnd 7: [2 sc, inc] 2 times, 12 sc (20)
Rnd 8: sc in each st around (20)
Rnd 9: [3 sc, inc] 2 times, 12 sc (22)
Rnd 10: sc in each st around (22)
Rnd 11: [3 sc, inc] 3 times, 10 sc (25)
Rnd 12: [4 sc, inc] 5 times (30)
Rnd 13: [5 sc, inc] 5 times (35)
– Insert safety eyes, between row 6 and 7, 7 sc apart.
Rnd 14 to 23: sc in each st around (35)
– Start stuffing, and continue along the way.
Rnd 24: [5 sc, dec] 5 times (30)
Rnd 25: sc in each st around (30)
Rnd 26: [4 sc, dec] 5 times (25)
Rnd 27: [3 sc, dec] 5 times (20)
Rnd 28: [2 sc, dec] 5 times (15)
Rnd 29: [1 sc, dec] 5 times (10)
Rnd 30: dec 5 times (5)
– Fasten off. Using a yarn needle, embroider the rest of the stitches together to close the hole. Hide the rest of the yarn in the body.

pig pattern 1

pig pattern 2

pig pattern 3

pig pattern 4

LEGS (make 4):
With pink yarn, make a magic ring
Rnd 1: 6 sc in center of the ring (6)
Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st around (12)
Rnd 3: sc in each st around, BLO
Rnd 4 to 5 : sc in each st around (12)
– Fasten off, leave a long tail for sewing. Stuff the legs with fiberfill, and sew them to the body. (I recommend that you pin all the legs before sewing to make sure they are placed properly).

pig pattern 5

pig pattern 6

EARS (make 2):
With pink yarn, make a magic ring
Rnd 1: 4 sc in center of the ring (4)
Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st around (8)
Rnd 3: sc in each st around (8)
Rnd 4: [1 sc, inc] 4 times (12)
Rnd 5: 6 sl st, 6 sc (12)
Rnd 6 to 8: sc in each st around (12)
– Fasten off, leave a long tail for sewing. Do not stuff the ears, leave them flat and bend them at row 5 level. Sew to each side of the head.

TAIL:
With pink yarn, 14 in chain. Leave a long thread of yarn at beginning
Rnd 1: 13 sc
– Use the threads to attach the tail to the body with a tight knot. Hide the remaining threads in the body.

Finishing touches:
– Use a piece of embroidery thread to make 2 stitches for the nose.

– Attach a little grey ribbon, or color of your choice by one of the ears.

Pig_Plush 2

Voila! Your cute little pig is done. I hope you enjoyed this pattern, and If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask me in the comments section.

Happy crocheting!

27 Responses to "Little Pig Pattern"

I am crocheting the Little Pig pattern. Could you please clarify rounds 7 – 13? I am confused when to increase the stitches (how many stitches apart) and how many stitches in one loop to increase, i.e. on row 13 do you make 5 stitches in one loop and do this 5 times and how far apart? Thank you so much.

Hi Susan. When I write like in row 13: [5 sc, inc] 5 times, it means that you do one single crochet in 5 different loops, then two single crochet in the next loop to increase. You repeat that process 5 times on the row. I hope this help, if not don’t hesitate to tell me. 🙂

Got it! The directions are worded a little differently than I am used to so I tried several different scenarios but none seemed to look right. Thanks for the clarification. It makes sense now! 🙂

Great! glad to hear it helped 🙂

I need to check my stitches for rnd 7. The directions state: 2 sc, inc 2 times 12 sc (20). Does that mean sc in loops 1 & 2, 2 sc in loop 3, sc in next 12 loops, 2 sc in 17th loop, sc in loops 19 & 20. Thanks!

Not exactly, it means sc in loops 1 & 2, 2 sc in loop 3, repeat one more time the process, then 12 loops. 🙂

Thank you. Now I will do some unraveling to get it right. I appreciate your help. Your guidance will help me for future projects. Your patterns are adorable.

thank you! I am glad I was able to help 🙂

Hi. I’m making your cute little pig right now. Are the legs supposed to be 18 stitches or 12? I’m thinking 12 and the 18 you put down at the end of round 4-5 is a mistake?
Thank you in advance 🙂

Hi Mette! its actually an error which I am going to correct, thank you for letting me know about it. it is 12 stitches, not 18.

Hi again. That’s what I thought. I made it 12 and finished the piggy yesterday. It’s really cute. Thanks for sharing the pattern.

You are welcome, and I am glad you liked it 🙂

Hi.
Thanks for the lovely pattern.
Could you clarify what to do for the tail please? Do I chain 14 and then do 13sc into that chain? Just checking because I don’t see how that will curl.
Thanks
Alix

How does the tail curly-cue? I just have an odd circle…

How does the tail curly-cue? I just have an odd circle…

I am trying to figure out how you ended up with a circle. Did you work your crochet in a round or with a row?

I had to alter the feet. Same problem with the ears. Make magic ring with 4 then round one sc 4 in center of ring that makes 8.Then the count is off for the whole thing.
It does not make sense to me. Please help 😦

Sorry for the delayed response, I just came back from a vacation. I am trying to understand why you had to alter the feet? after making the magic ring you start by making 6 sc in the ring, then next round 2 sc in each of the 6 stitches, which makes 12. That’s for the feet, after that you make 3 rows of 12 sc for the legs. For the ears, you do start with a magic ring, then 4 sc in the ring. Round 2, 2 sc in each of the 4 stitches, which makes 8. Round 4, 1 sc, 1 inc (you do that 4 times) which increase your work to 12.

[…] followed this pattern to make him, with the exception of the eyes which I made by tying a few knots on a piece of black […]

Hello. Lovely pattern. Could you just tell me if the beginning of the round should be placed on the underside of the pig or to one side? Thank you.

Oops! Never mind. I just re examined the pictures. All is good. Thsnks again for this sweet pattern.

Hi Donna! Sorry for not replying earlier, I was away for the holidays. I am glad you figured it out with the pictures. Hope you enjoyed this pattern, and thank you for the comment! 🙂

What a nice pattern! Thank you!

You’re welcome! I am glad you like it 🙂

hola hermoso el cerdito pero necesito ayuda con la ronda n°4. gracias

Hi Maria, row 4 is worked in one loop only instead of both (the one in the back). There is a picture that shows how it is done right under the instructions (the first picture).

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 336 other followers

