Miss Dolkapots Krafties

My Little Steampunk Doll

Posted on: August 10, 2015

I spent the last few weeks working on the doll of my dreams, a cute amigurumi girl inspired by the Steampunk movement (a subgenre of science-fiction influenced by the Victorian era and steam powered machinery). I wanted to make this doll since the day I started to crochet a few years ago, I was just not ready to make one until now. It took me about a month to finish it, on and off, and I am very happy with the result. I named her Mina, for Mina Harvey who is a character from my favorite book of the 19th century era, Dracula. Here she is taking a stroll in my backyard.

Steampunk Crochet Doll

I was going to create my own pattern to make the body when I stumbled upon a tutorial by Annie-88 on Deviant art to make the an Elsa doll (from frozen), I thought it would be perfect base for my doll. I made some minor changes along the way to suit my doll, but this is a great pattern that is free, and easy to understand if you are familiar with the techniques.

Steampunk Doll

I used vinyl and fabric to make her dress, and bought some accessories at the craft store to doll her up. I took me a while to figure out how to make the goggles, so I took a trip to Home Depot for inspiration and bought a set of large PVC rings, and another set of smaller metal rings in the hardware section. I crocheted around them with two different color of yarn, glued them together with felt in between to imitate glass. Then I bought a piece of brown elastic band to go around. It turned out to be easier than I thought it would be.

IMG_2468

My doll is about 17 inch tall with the hat, I used a 2.75mm crochet hook because I like my stitches to be tight. I inserted some safety eyes and glued some plastic eyelashes before clipping them.

crochet steampunk girl

If you make this doll I recommend that you put a 4 to 5 inch wood stick inside to hold the head. The neck is very small and cannot hold the weight of the head unless you put support inside. the wood stick keeps it steady.

IMG_2466

Now all I need is a doll stand that I will spray with brass to fit with the style. She is a great addition to my crochet collection, I will just have to keep her away from my cat who is very intrigued by the bling on her hat and the little keys dangling from her chain.

steampunk crochet

My next post will be a tutorial to seamlessly change color when working in rounds. I used that technique to make the legs of the doll, and I really like it.

Happy crocheting!

11 Responses to "My Little Steampunk Doll"

Adorable and cute! Love all the details ❤

She is adorable and very cute! I love all the details ❤ Steampunk is such a great style 🙂

I love her hair. She is brilliant

Oh wow. You did such a great job! She’s perfect ❤

Wow! This is amazing! I love all the details. She is wonderful.

I love the Steampunk era. Victorian with a little “sass”. Beautiful doll. The details are great. 🙂

Thank you! I really enjoyed making this doll 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

