Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Elephant Pattern

Posted on: June 26, 2015

The fun thing about crafting is that you always try to challenge yourself by learning new techniques to improve your skills.   Not long ago I stumbled upon photos of crocheted animals with head and legs made with continuous rows, and it bugged me because I couldn’t figure out how it was done. I started to look for patterns that would be easy to make, and teach you the basics. That was hard to find, most tutorials are very advanced, and none of them are free. Then one day I was looking for an elephant patterns, and there was the one I had been looking for,  an elephant tutorial with seamless legs and trunk.

This pattern goes a long way, it was first published in a Japanese book, translated in Spanish by a blogger called Rani, then translated in French by another blog called Petite Maille. This is where I picked up the pattern to make mine, since I speak French it was easy for me to understand the instructions.

Elephant AmigurumiFirst you work on the body, the legs, then the trunk (in rounds).  The technique that is used to make the legs and trunk is explained with an illustration that makes it easier to understand how it is done. Once you have crocheted these parts on the body, you finish your elephant with the ears and the belly. (they are the only parts that requires sewing)

Elephant Plush

I made mine in pink, and I had a lot of fun learning this technique. Now I can take it to the next level and try something different using the same concept. If you are interested in making this elephant, you are lucky since it is available in three languages. Soon after I published this post, someone posted a comment to let me know that there was also an English version of the pattern (merci Ophelie), which was published by Stephanie, All About Ami.

crocheted elephant

This elephant is so cute, I am thinking about making another one in grey. I might follow the instructions in English this time, i am more used to English terms than those in French.  Here are the links to the patterns:
English version
French Version
Spanish Version

Happy crocheting!

4 Responses to "Elephant Pattern"

Hi ! 🙂 This elephant is adorable 🙂 I just wanted to let you know that there is already a translation in English of this pattern, by all about ami here : http://www.allaboutami.com/post/83740593154/elephantpattern

Have a nice day !

Thank you for the info, i will edit my post to add the link.

I’ve been wanting to try that pattern for a few weeks now, and didn’t know of anyone that had completed it, so thanks for sharing. I’m adding it to my queue right now 🙂 Your pinkie is absolutely adorable! Happy weekend!

Oh cool! You will really like it, the pattern is really well described and I had no problem following the instructions.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

