Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Coasters Mania

Posted on: May 6, 2015

Lately I have been obsessed with coasters. I started with a set of four a few days ago but I quickly found out that once you start, you cannot stop! Mandala coasters, flower coasters, fruit coasters… They are so much fun and easy to make, one could end up with a warehouse of coasters in no time at all.

crochet coasters

The first set I made is based on the Little Spring Mandala pattern, by K-town. I love her pattern, it is so pretty and you can play around with it. Since I am in the mood for summer I used vibrant colors in yellow, green, red and orange, mostly scraps of yarn that had accumulated in my drawer. I didn’t follow the instructions to the end, I stopped at round 4 then made one more with *3 half crochet in each chain space, 3 sc in the top stitches* all the way around. I used the same set of colors for the other 3 coasters but switched them around.

mandala coasters

My second set is a pattern by Janaya – Charmed By Ewe. These flowers coasters are very easy to make. I love the colors she used so I kept the same tones of blue, white and brown. The pattern calls for Lily Sugar ‘n Cream type of yarn, but since I didn’t have any I used my scraps of Red Heart Super Saver. I think next time I go to the craft store I will buy some in case I cannot stop with this new addiction.

flower coasters

The third set is a series of fruits I made from different patterns. The orange and the lemon are very basic but so cute, I would recommend this tutorial by Christine Longe to anybody who is new to crochet. I didn’t craft the leaves the same way, I made 8 in chain, 1 sc, 1 hdc, 3 dc, 3 sc in last chain, then turned to the other side to make 1 hdc, 3 dc, and 2 sc in last ch.

The pear and apple comes from a pattern by Repeat Crafter Me. I made two apples, one red and one green. These are also great tutorial for beginners. I made the kiwi using the same concept but crocheted a row of black yarn for the seeds (1 sc, ch 1) in each stitch and all the way around. Then another row of 2 half double crochet in each chain space.

fruit coasters

The last set is a pattern by Whiskers and Wool – Springtime Coasters. I made them with a white base color but I would like to try another set with blue or green to see the difference. They are definitely very pretty, I added a little bead at the center to give it a little bit of sparkle.

springtime coasters

These coasters are a great gift idea if you have ran out of time to craft anything for Mother’s day. You can make a set of six in no time at all and wrap them up in a nice ribbon.

coasters gift idea

Happy crocheting!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 346 other followers

