Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Bowie fan art project

Posted on: March 24, 2015

Not long ago I made a post about a new project I had in mind, making a Ziggy Stardust doll based an iconic photo taken in the early 70s by Mick Rock. It’s finally done and I am really  happy with the result.

It was a new challenge for me, I had to put wires in the doll to be able to pose it, make the clothes with material, and make a chair as well to match the scene. It took me a month to finish it, but I took my time and it was really worth it.

It’s not easy to crochet a doll when you have to work around wires, but a little patience goes a long way (well, maybe a lot of patience).

Crochet wired doll

I used a wooden mannequin to help me get the right dimensions of the torso, arms and legs. This is my first time using one and I do not regret that purchase!

Anyway, here is the result, a crocheted version of Mick Rock photo of Ziggy Stardust:

Ziggy Stardust Doll

Here are the two pics side by side. I Photoshopped mine to to get the lighting as close as I could to the original.

Ziggy Stardust Doll

Since my doll is posable, here another pic standing up. I actually took this pic before adding the pendant, so it is missing on that shot.

Ziggy Stardust doll

I really had a lot of fun with this project, now I just need to figure out where I am going to display my doll. This is just the beginning of my Rock N’Roll series, my next one will be based on an iconic photo of Debbie Harry, from Blondie.

Update: I tweeted a picture of this doll, and the legendary photographer Mick Rock added it to his favorites. Let me say that it doesn’t get better than that!

9 Responses to "Bowie fan art project"

Magnificent, your Bowie dolls! I love crocheting amis and have been a fan of David for more than 40 years ❤

Thank you! I have been a fan of Bowie for a long time as well, I give him credits for what I listen to till this day because my taste in music was highly influenced by his style and the different genres he got into. 🙂

We have been spoiled by his music, I love almost all of it. And he’s still good looking too 😉

[…] Ziggy played guitar – Part II Ziggy played guitar – Part III (Mick rock version) […]

Hello did you ever post a pattern for just a basic doll for as a guide for the Bowie dolls. I tried and its not as good as I wanted. If you could help with a basic doll pattern that would be great xx

I didn’t get a chance yet, but I will as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 336 other followers

