Miss Dolkapots Krafties

My next fan art project

Posted on: March 2, 2015

Today I went to hobby lobby to buy something I wanted to purchase for the longest time, a wooden mannequin.  Their purpose are normally for drawing but I realized that it would help me figure out proportions when I crochet dolls, which will come handy for my next project; another Bowie doll.

This mannequin will help me figure out how many rows I need to build parts

This mannequin will help me determine how many rows I need to build parts

I have made Bowie dolls in the past, three of them actually, so you might wonder why make another one? This time, I am taking it to the next level. I am going to reproduce a scene from a photo that was taken during the Ziggy Stardust era. He is sitting on a chair, wearing his famous red boots, and a very glittery outfit.

The scene I am going to reproduce in crochet

The scene I am going to reproduce in crochet

I am going to use wire and doll joints to make the doll posable, this way I will be able to make him sit in the same position as the photo. I will also make the chair, and set it on a red display.

The wire I am going to  use to make the skeleton

The wire I am going to use to make the skeleton

I am also using fabric to make the clothes instead of crocheting them.  I found some really cool glittery material that looks similar to his outfit, it will allow me to put my new sewing machine to good use.

Glittery fabric for the clothes.

This is definitely not a small project, but that’s what I love about crafting. I have no idea how long it will take me to make it, but since time is not of the essence I will just have fun with it. Knowing me, I am going to get so obsessed with it that I am going to turn into an anti-social maniac until it’s finished.

Well, I better get started! I will definitely post more about this project as I go, and if all goes well, I will continue this as a Rock’N’roll series.

1 Response to "My next fan art project"

I can’t wait to see him!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

