Miss Dolkapots Krafties

My last project of 2014

Posted on: January 3, 2015

This post is about the last crochet project I made last year, a Monster High inspired bag for my friend’s daughter who is crazy about the dolls, and anything related to them. I wanted to make her a Monster High Ipad cover for Christmas, but my friend told me that what she really needed was a bag to put all of her accessories. So I used the Lacy V Market bag pattern to make it, but with 40 in ch instead of 50 because I wanted it smaller.

My first step was to choose some material for the lining, so I went to Jo-Ann and found this really cool Monster High fabric which helped me decide on the colors of the bag.

monster high fabricI recently bought a sewing machine, and discovered that I love working with materials, so I will probably include more fabric in my crochet projects this year.

Monster High bag

I made a slight alteration to the pattern, on top. I wanted to add a black ribbon so instead of finishing with just single crochet, I made a row of double crochet, skipping two stitches in between to make a hole. I really want to put an applique on the bag but it was too late to purchase one, Christmas was only a few days away. I had to think outside the box, so I cut a piece from the fabric and used that instead.

monster high bag

bag lining

I think the bag turned out really cute, I love this pattern, and I think I will be using it in future projects. Lilly loved it, now she can put all her Monster High accessories in it and recycle that grocery bag where it belongs!

Monster High inspired bag

Happy crocheting!

2 Responses to "My last project of 2014"

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 336 other followers

