Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Crocheted bags – Part II

Posted on: December 14, 2014

Last month I had blogged about two crochet bags I had made for my sister and my mum, see Crocheted bags – Part I, but I had to put these projects aside because I didn’t have a sewing machine to work on the lining. Last week I decided that it was time to finish these bags if I wanted to send them on time for Christmas, so I started doing some research online to find out which sewing machine would work best for me. It had to be inexpensive, easy to use, and most importantly, it had to work! I opted the Brother JX2517 which had the best reviews from beginners like me. I wasn’t disappointed, the machine is very easy to use and I would recommend it to anybody who is new to sewing.

Now that I had my sewing machine, I had to learn how to sew a lining. I found a lot of tutorials online but the one I liked best was written by Vendulka Mardeska – Magic with Hooks and Needles. Her instructions are easy to follow, and the lining very basic, perfect for a newbie like me.

I started with the smallest bag, a medium size purse called Hobo Bag (see part 1 for pattern). I found a fabric that is almost the perfect match for the bag, but since I had only bought enough to make the lining I was hoping I wouldn’t mess up.

Crochet bag lining fabric

It was easier than I thought it would be, I just took my time to make sure I was doing it right (after all this was my first time using a sewing machine and making a lining). I was really proud of myself, it turned out really pretty.

Bag lining

I found a strap at JoAnn which I sewed to the bag using yarn. This bag is for my sister, I really hope she will like her Christmas gift.

Crochet bag

The second bag is the Lacy V Market Bag, which I made for my mum. I had bought some brown fabric for the lining but I became too confident and ended up making a mistake while cutting the fabric. Hopefully I had some cream color fabric I had used as a tablecloth at a fair, it saved the day.

crochet lining fabric

This is a larger bag, and I don’t know if I had burned too many brain cells at that point but I kept on making mistakes. I managed to sew the upper edge the wrong way, which took me a while to undo but gave me plenty of time to curse myself for not paying attention to what I was doing.

crochet bag lining

Eventually I was able to finish it, and it turned out really nice. Now that I am a pro (sort of) I want to make more bags and crochet items that require sewing.

Lacy V tote bag

In spite of a couple of hiccups, I really thought it would be more difficult to learn how to use a sewing machine and make a lining for a bag. For that reason I am really happy with the result, and I can’t wait for my mum and my sister to receive their bags.

My next project is a Monster High bag I am going to make for one of my friend’s daughter who collects the dolls. I have already bought the fabric, but I better get started because I want to give it to her for Christmas.

I hope you enjoyed this post about my adventures in Sewing Land, but I couldn’t end this topic without posting a photo of what I have to deal with every time I try to take a picture of my work:

Crochet bag

“don’t mind me, I just like to be in the way of whatever you are doing”

Happy crocheting!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

