Dragonfly Ornament Pattern

I have been very busy making ornaments for the holidays season, Santas, snowmen, angels, penguins, elves etc… My house is filled with Christmas decorations and we are not even half way through November. One of the ornaments I made is a little dragonfly, a really cute little amigurumi that you can hang on your tree during the holidays season, or use as any kind of decoration.

I made mine beige and brown, but you can use any color you like. The size of the dragonfly is about 6 inch long, with a 2.75mm hook.

Dragonfly Amigurumi

Materials:
– Medium/4 worsted yarn, brown and beige
– 2.75mm crochet hook
– Goggly eyes
– Fiberfill for stuffing
– yarn needle
– Glue gun, or fabric glue
– Embroidery thread, white

Abbreviations:
Rnd = round
sc = single crochet
inc = increase
dec= decrease
ch = chain
hdc = half double crochet
dc = double crochet
st = stitch

PATTERN:
Body:
With beige yarn, make a magic ring
Rnd 1: 5 sc in center of the ring (5)
Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st around (10)
RNd 3: [1 sc, inc] 5 times (15)
Rnd 4 to 5: sc in each st around (15)
Rnd 6: [1 sc, dec] 5 times (10)
Rnd 7: [3 sc, dec] 2 times (8)
Rnd 8: [3 sc, inc] 2 times (10)
Rnd 9: [1 sc, inc] 5 times (15)
– Start stuffing, and continue along the way
Rnd 10 to 12: sc in each st around (15)
Rnd 13: [5 sc, dec] 2 times, 1 sc (13)
Rnd 14: [4 sc, dec] 2 times, 1 sc (11)
Rnd 15: [3 sc, dec] 2 times, 1 sc (9)
Rnd 16 to 25: sc in each st around (9)
Rnd 26: 7 sc, dec (8)
Rnd 27: 6 sc, dec (7)
Rnd 28: 5 sc, dec (6)
Rnd 29: dec 3 times (3)
Fasten off, and weave in the loose end in the last stitches of the tail.

Wings (make 4):
With brown yarn, 17 in ch.
Rnd 1: 2 sc, 2 hdc, 11 dc, 4 dc in last st, turn and continue on the other side of the chain, 11 dc, 2 hdc, 2 sc.
Fasten off, and weave in the loose ends.

dragon_schema
Graphic version

– Glue the goggly eyes on the head, and the wings (2 on each side of the body)
– Cut a piece of embroidery thread, insert in the stitches on top of the dragonfly, and make a secure double knot. Move your thread until the knot is hidden inside the body.

Dragonfly pattern

I hope you enjoy this pattern, and if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask me.

Happy crocheting!

15 thoughts on “Dragonfly Ornament Pattern

  1. This is wonderful! My friend and I both love dragonflies. I will be making one to give her for Christmas. Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

  2. There is a bit of info missing on the wing section rnd 1: 2 sc, 2 hdc, 11 dc ,4 dc in last stitch, for a beginner they would be confused

    1. Hi Paula, I am not sure what is missing? I have “Rnd 1: 2 sc, 2 hdc, 4 dc in last st, turn and continue on the other side of the chain, 11 dc, 2 hdc, 2 sc.” which I believe is the complete round for the wing.

      1. Hello! I am loving this pattern so far, adorable, and my body section turned out perfectly. However, I am just such a beginner as Paula references above, and I am not certain how I am to begin a wing… Do I start with a magic circle and do 2 singles crochets in it? Or put 17 single crochets in a magic circle? Or start by chaining 17? Or possibly make a chain 17 inches long? Hoping I can figure it out on my own or that someone might be able to help me out in time to get this finished tonight…
        Thanks for the lovely free pattern though – I’m so excited to see it completed! 🙂

  3. Hello! I am loving this pattern so far, adorable, and my body section turned out perfectly. However, I am just such a beginner as Paula references above, and I am not certain how I am to begin a wing… Do I start with a magic circle and do 2 singles crochets in it? Or put 17 single crochets in a magic circle? Or start by chaining 17? Or possibly make a chain 17 inches long? Hoping I can figure it out on my own or that someone might be able to help me out in time to get this finished tonight…
    Thanks for the lovely free pattern though – I’m so excited to see it completed! 🙂

    1. Hi! Sorry for not replying earlier, I was away for Christmas. You start with a chain of 17 stitches, then you work around it. I added a graphic version on the pattern if you want to look at it, I hope it helps. Let me know if you still having problems understanding.

Leave a comment