Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Crocheted bags – Part I

Posted on: November 7, 2014

After trying my hands on making blankets, baby shoes and other crochet projects that are not amigurumi related, I decided to add one more novelty to my never ending list of things I want to try: bags!

I looked up online for cute but easy patterns, and found two that I absolutely fell in love with. Since it will be the Holidays by the time I finish them I will send them to my mum and my sister as Christmas gifts.

The first one is called Lacy V Market Bag, by Cathy Phillips. It’s a cute and large tote bag that is easy to make if you are a beginner like me. I made mine 10 stitches smaller than required on the pattern because I wanted it smaller.

V Lace Tote Bag

I added a flower that I made following Crocodile Stitch Flower, by B Hooked Crochet, and glued a large blue bead at the center to make it look even prettier.

Crochet flower

The second bag is a pattern called Crochet Hobo Bag, by Dao Lam. She was inspired by a bag she saw in Nordstrom, and the result is really cute. I still need to buy the handles for it, and I think I am going to buy a silver color chain handle instead of a black leather one.

hobo bag

Now comes the fun part, I still have to work on the lining for both bags. I picked a light brown cotton fabric for my V lace bag, and a blue one for the hobo purse.  I am not the queen of sewing, and since I don’t even own a sewing machine, it is going to be my next purchase.

material for bag

material for hobo bag

I looked around for a sewing machine, and I found one at the craft store I really like. It is the Pixie Plus by Singer, a small and compact machine that only cost $50. I think it’s the perfect choice for me, I don’t need a complicated and expensive machine since I won’t be using it often, and only for small projects.

I have also looked for tutorials to make bags lining, and I found a couple I liked. That will be part II of my Crocheted Bags series, and  I have no idea how it is going to turn out because I am new to sewing.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 346 other followers

