Miss Dolkapots Krafties

A day at the fair

Posted on: May 12, 2014

Last friday was market day, a fair that takes place every year before mother’s day. This is my second time attending as a vendor, I love the atmosphere of the place. I found a great location between two trees with a lot of shades, set up my table, then spent the day chatting with people passing by, other vendors, and friends who dropped by to visit.

My little booth at the fair

My little booth at the fair

There was a lot of vendors at the fair, and if you like jewelry and accessories, this is definitely the place to go. I could have spent all my money on rings, bracelets and necklaces, there was so many. I didn’t move from my chair because I knew I wouldn’t be able to resist all the bling bling.

View from my booth. Lots and lots of accessories booths at the UCR market.

View from my booth. Lots and lots of accessories booths at the UCR market.

I had brought a lot of items, such as my kokeshi figurines, plushes, mother’s day items such as flowers, brooches, hearts, and coasters. I didn’t have enough room to put everything on the table, but I was able to replenish through the day.

coasters and fridgies

Coasters and fridgies

Butterflies and flowers brooches

Butterflies and flowers brooches

kokeshi inspired dolls and little animals

kokeshi inspired dolls and little animals

plants and bouquet of flowers

plants and bouquet of flowers

Most of my animals and kokeshi dolls are gone, I do miss them a little, you get attached to the things you make. It was such a great day, even though I burnt my nose in the sun, it was worth it! One student bought one of my French doll, a little guy with a striped shirt and a beret, for one of her friend who is a French major. She was really excited about the gift, and later on I got a visit from her friend. She was carrying the little doll in the back pocket of her backpack. I thought it was so cute, I asked her to pose with it for the camera.

Gaston found a home, in the pocket of a backpack.

Gaston found a home, in the pocket of a backpack.

This was so much fun, I will definitely go back to the next market day event in December.  I better start making more items for the next fair now that most of my items are gone!

 

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

