Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Beanie and Mitts gift box idea.

Posted on: February 9, 2014

I was looking for a gift idea on Pinterest when I stumbled upon a beanie crochet pattern that looked exactly like something my friend would wear, Pretty Girl Beanie by Crochet Rochelle. I had never made a beanie before but the pattern looked really easy to make, and the hat looked so pretty!

The pattern comes with different sizes, from 6 months to adult X-large. I had picked the medium adult size to work on the beanie, but it ended up being a bit too large so I switched to small adult.  I guess the size you end up with depends on your gauge, so it’s a good idea to try it on your head as you go.

The hat can be made in any colors but I used pink and grey yarn because I felt that combination works best for that kind of hat, it gives it a vintage feel. I followed the instructions to the letter except for the length. I didn’t want the beanie to fall on the eyes, so I disregarded two rows of DC before changing to pink.

My beanie, finished.

My beanie, finished.

a more dimensional view. I was going to put it on my head, but I am not a fan of "selfies".

Dimensional view. I was going to put it on my head, but I am not a fan of “selfies”.

The flower is also included in the pattern, but comes from another source: it’s a crocodile stitch flower created by Bettany, B Hooked crochet. The size of your flower will depends on your yarn weight, and how tight you sew it together. Mine ended up a bit smaller than the one on the beanie, I didn’t want it too big. I used a glue gun to attach it to the hat, I find it easier than sewing.

After I finished the hat, I felt like something was missing. So I looked for fingerless mitts patterns, and found what I was looking for on a blog called Crochet Dreamz, a pattern called Brooklyn Fingerless Mits. It’s the ideal pattern if you have never made mitts before, it is very straight forward and super easy! The gloves are made using single crochet and extended single crochet, it took me less than two hours to make them. Not bad, for a first try!

Pink and grey to match the hat

Pink and grey to match the hat

My hand in display

My hand in display

I considered making two small flowers for the gloves, but decided that it would be too much floral since the hat already has a big flower. Sometimes, it’s better to keep it simple! Hop in the box it goes, now I just have to hope that my friend will like her birthday gift!

packaged and ready to go!

Packaged and ready to go!

If you are looking for gift ideas, I really recommend these patterns. Not only they are really cute, they are simple and easy to make. You can also use them as a base, then accessorize to your liking.

Happy crocheting!

1 Response to "Beanie and Mitts gift box idea."

Very pretty! Any friend would be amazed with such a lovely gift! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 336 other followers

