Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Olivia’s little shoe box

Posted on: October 18, 2013

One of my friend just had a baby, and I wanted to make something for her “welcome home” party. I was looking at photos of baby items, and I couldn’t help going “aaawww” every time I would stumble upon some baby shoes or booties. I decided that it would be cute to crochet a few of them from different patterns, different sizes, and put them in a nice little box.

I picked 4 patterns I liked,  and put my own twist to the final touches. I had never crocheted baby clothes or anything other than amigurumi dolls before, so I had to get used to the idea of joining the rows instead of working in continuous spirals. Believe it or not, when you’re stuck to a habit, it’s hard to break free!

I used an old cardboard box I found in the garage and wrapped it in pink paper

I used an old cardboard box I found in the garage and wrapped it in pink paper

The first pair I made comes from Hayley Missingham, from Ravelry. The pattern is called Dainty Mary Janes. I didn’t put a flower on mine, but a little pink rhinestone, and pink ribbon in front:

aren't they cute?

Pink Mary Janes

The second pattern I picked is Toddler Slippers, by Lisa Gutierrez – GoodKnits. They are worked in rounds, starting from the toe. I made mine in white and  blue, with a daisy and a blue ribbon. I also added a row of HDC on the ankle and folded it over the shoe. It’s always more fun to put your own spin when you craft an item!

Toddler Slippers

Blue and White Toddler Slippers

I also wanted to make some booties, and found a pattern I fell in love with.  It is called Crochet Cuffed  Baby Boots, by Sarah – Repeat Crafter Me. I had some fuzzy yarn I wanted to use, so I added a row of sc at the end of the boot before folding it. I love the result.

Brown and Beige Cuffed Booties

Brown and Beige Cuffed Booties

The last pattern I picked is very cute, it is  Bunny Slippers, by Knot Your Nana’s Crochet. I just used the pattern for the shape, and left it as it is with just a rose on top. I was determined to use roses in one of my baby shoes project. I thought about making a mouse with this pattern, since I used grey, but I will leave that for next time.

Note quite bunnies but the roses look so cute!

Note quite bunny slippers, but I loved the shape of these shoes

All these patterns are free, and very easy to make. It takes about an hour for each, so you can wrap up this project in less than a day. I think the shoe box   is a very cute gift idea, I had to stop myself because I wanted to make more of them. Since my sister is expecting, I think I will repeat this project during Christmas time, with different shoes.

My box is all packed and ready to go, I can’t wait to give this to my friend, I hope she will like them!

Happy crocheting!

1 Response to "Olivia’s little shoe box"

so flippin cute I can’t handle it!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 346 other followers

