Miss Dolkapots Krafties

a trip to Hobby Lobby

Posted on: July 24, 2013

Last Saturday I went to Hobby Lobby for the first time. I had heard of it from friends, and even though it has been opened for two years in my area, I never had the chance to check it out. It’s a retail store that sells craft supplies, fabrics, home decor, party supplies, a combination of Michaels, Jo-Ann, and Home Goods all in one. I was mostly interested in the craft supplies of course, I was told that there is a large diversity of yarn, and other items you can only find online.

this is quite a large store

this is quite a large store

I thought I had jumped  forward in time when I entered the store. There was two big isles dedicated to fall and thanksgiving. Pumpkins, scarecrows, autumn candles…  On the next turn I was surrounded by Christmas decorations, Christmas trees, and ornaments, tons of ornaments! it was a bit surreal, I am not exactly in the mood for the holidays yet! Nevertheless, this wasn’t what I came here for, so I headed right to the craft supplies area on the other side of the store.

Beautiful off season ornaments

Beautiful off season ornaments

It is quite a large store, and when you come there for the first time  it take some time to find what you are looking for. However, the salesperson was quite helpful, and quite knowledgeable about the products and their location. I went straight for the yarn!

Yarn heaven!

Yarn heaven!

More yarn heaven

More yarn heaven

Let me tell you that I wasn’t disappointed. There was a big variety of brands, and tons of colors to choose from. I found some metallic yarn I had been looking for and couldn’t find anywhere but online.

Bingo!

Bingo!

I even found some Alpaca yarn! I didn’t buy any because some dummy forgot her coupons. (I forgot to print them as usual) :/

Apalca for the win

Apalca for the win

Once I was done dancing around in the isle yarn, I headed to the dolls accessories. There, I found little hats, glasses, safety eyes of different colors, frog eyes, bear noses, bear joints, hair, and even clothing!

dress up your dolls!

dress up your dolls!

I bought 2 bags of safety eyes for 99 cents each (3 pairs of 9mm in blue, 2 pairs of 13mm  yellow). You cannot find these sets of color in other stores.

I am going to have a lot of fun with these

I am going to have a lot of fun with these

If you are a hobbyist, this is definitely the place to go. Airplanes models, drawing, painting, sculpting, baking, flower arrangement etc…. It doesn’t have as much fabrics as Jo-Ann, but there is still a nice selection!  I spent 2 hours there, and I didn’t even see the time go by. I was like a kid in a candy store, I wanted to buy everything!

I will still go to Jo-Ann and Michaels, because it’s closer to where I live, but I will definitely go back to buy supplies that I cannot find anywhere else.

To find is there is a Hobby Lobby in your region, you can search on the Store Locator.

 

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 336 other followers

