Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Ziggy Stardust part II – I am an alligator…

Posted on: July 22, 2013

Part two of  my adventures in the world of Ziggy Stardust. Here is another doll that was inspired by this look. I spent a lot of time going through photos before deciding to go for the eyepatch. Ziggy had an amazing wardrobe, the most difficult part was to make up my mind about which costume I wanted to make!

Ziggy_Stardust_2

It was a bit challenging, there is a lot going on, especially with the shirt. I couldn’t possibly make the exact pattern, but I did consider calling David Bowie to ask him for a piece to dress my doll..well..  in my dreams I did!! I did try to keep the same tones of colors, but I really played with what looked best rather than making a copy.

It took me several days to make it, with trials and errors. I used “autumn red” from Caron for the hair, which I bought last Christmas when the color was in season. I call it “Ziggy’s yarn”, because I have only used it for this doll.

Ziggy_2c

I couldn’t help making a little spider, it is from Mars of course. I thought it would be a cute addition to the doll.

Moonage Daydream was in my head while working on this doll, I kept singing “I am an alligator…” over and over.I intend to make a third Ziggy Stardust doll, this time with the round patch on his forehead, and one legged costume. If you haven’t seen my first Ziggy Stardust doll, here is a link to the post: Ziggy Played Guitar – Part I

10 Responses to "Ziggy Stardust part II – I am an alligator…"

I can’t believe you don’t have THOUSANDS of comments on here. I just LOVE this and they are SO SO SO SO adorable. just precious. Thank you for making them! Someone posted them on the Church Of David Bowie group on Facebook and they are blowing up! Come see! xoxoxo

Aaaww thank you so much 🙂 I was inspired by his different costumes that covered the Ziggy Era. Did you see the one I made from Mick Rock pic? It’s a crochet version of that photo: https://missdolkapots.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/bowietwopics_small.jpg

Hi, these David Bowie dolls are just amazing, so detailed and well captured, I love them! Any chance of making the patterns available for purchise? I would definately buy all of them 🙂

Thank you so much for your comment! I don’t have a proper pattern, but I intend to work on one just for the basic doll. I will post about it on my blog when it is done.

Great, thank you for both your reply and the doll pattern 🙂 All the best

Hi, how much would you charge to make Ziggy Played Guitar Doll ?

Hello Kim! I am sorry, I do not sale any David Bowie dolls, I just made it as fan art 🙂

They are Brilliant !! if you ever decide to sell them …….I will be 1st in line to buy – you would sell out for sure ……they really are special ,
Helen (massive Bowie fan )

Thank you Helen, from Bowie fan to Bowie fan 😉

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 336 other followers

