Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Skull Kid – by aphid777, DeviantArt

Posted on: July 17, 2013

This week I am featuring the most impressive amigurumi  I have seen so far,  a Skull Kid character made by a crochet artist named Evelyn, or aphid777 on DeviantArt.

If you are a fan of the Zelda games, you have probably encountered this mischievous little creature  in Ocarina of Time, Majora’s Mask, or Twilight Princess. Evelyn’s version of the character couldn’t be more accurate, the skill level is impressive. You can tell that a lot of effort, and hours have been put into this work. I asked Evelyn a few questions about her art work.

What inspired you to make a Skull Kid?
I’ve always loved the Legend of Zelda series so I’d been hoping to make characters from the games. I started crocheting almost 2 years ago so I wanted some more practice before trying to make something from the games. I had been planning to make a humanoid figure for a while and Skull Kid seemed the perfect choice and plus, Majora’s mask is just so cool!

What was the most challenging part of this project?
Designing Skull Kid was probably the hardest part. It took me a while to figure out how to proportion the figure, shape the mask, how to get in a color gradient on the spikes, how to needle-felt all the details, and how to design his hat. I always find that some parts don’t always go according to the original plan while other parts might magically work out :)

How long did it take, approximatively?
I wish I could tell you how long it took. I can tell you that it took many, many, many hours over the span of several weeks. I’d say the mask alone took approximately 16 hours to finish.

The mask looks amazing. You used felt to work on the eyes, and some of the details. Do you think needle felting easier than embroidery?
For me, needle felting is definitely easier than embroidery. It’s much easier to control the addition of wool versus thread, and the results have been nicer from my experience. It does take some getting used to at first, but I’m sure that’s the same with any other craft.

Is there any other characters from the Zelda games that you would like to make?
I have a whole list of characters from the Zelda series that I want to make. I’ve started working on a Young Link doll. I’ve still got his weapons to work on. As for other characters, I’m hoping to make Midna, Wolf Link, Zelda, Ganondorf, Sheik, and several others. The list is never-ending :)

You can check out Evelyn’s gallery on DeviantArt, and don’t hesitate to leave a comment if you like her art work!

2 Responses to "Skull Kid – by aphid777, DeviantArt"

Is there a way to get this pattern?

Unfortunately, she didn’t make a pattern for it because the directions were too complex to write out. She does have other patterns available in the “crochet works” folder of her gallery on DeviantArt, but not this one!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 342 other followers

