Miss Dolkapots Krafties

Amigurumi Spock by Bandotaku, DeviantArt

Posted on: June 27, 2013

I decided to start a weekly feature to display work from other artists, dolls and plushes I fell in love with. Today it’s Kristel, or Bandotaku from DeviantArt. Like me, she’s a Cumberbabe, but that’s not why I featured her work on my blog! She made this really cool Spock, you can tell that a lot of work has been put into it. I love the details on the doll; the clothes really look layered, the hands are really well made, and I love his facial expression.. Thinking about something logical, certainly!

I asked Kristel a few questions about her craft:

Leonard Nimoy or Zachary Quinto? :p
I have to say Nimoy, though I do like Mr. Quinto very much. I went about the Star Trek fandom a bit backwards, first watching the recent reboot Star Trek: Into Darkness first, then watching the 2009 reboot, then starting on the original series. Nothing beats the originals: Spock’s true personality lies in Nimoy’s acting, but I think the new cast matches very nicely.

What inspired you to make an amigurumi Spock?
After seeing Into Darkness, I fell head-over-heels in love with Star Trek. I’m very much a Star Trek newbie, and I’m not shy to admit it. I was completely blown away by the movie, and I had very little expectations going into it (I went for Benedict Cumberbatch and for him only). I decided I needed to try watching some of the original episodes, and it just escalated from there. Whenever I get excited about something, I have to expel that excited energy out through some sort of creative medium. It happens all the time. And Spock is just such a unique character, I knew I had to make him.

How long did it take to make it?
I’ve never actually clocked my work, but if I were to guess, I would say at least 20 hours, spread out over about a week. I can easily spend 2-3 hours crocheting at a time.

What was the most challenging part in making this doll?
The design was really hard for me. I am used to crocheting four-legged animals that stand on their own, so transitioning from making animals to making a person was a challenge. It took a while to decide how I wanted the legs, whether I wanted them sitting or standing. I looked at many other human amigurumi by other crafters online until I eventually just dove right in. I never had a good clear picture of what I wanted him to look like in the end, so he just sort of grew along with me. And I tried out some new things I had never done before, such as the hands with fingers and the detached sleeves. He was successful surprise and I learned several new techniques that I hope to use again.

What’s your next crochet project? Are you going to make a Cumberbatch Sherlock?
Ah, Sherlock! He would certainly be fun in his long coat. Maybe someday. Right now, I don’t have any big projects planned. I thought about making the Eleventh Doctor from Doctor Who, but his outfit is a doozy. And after finishing Spock, then working on a few commissions, I feel a little burnt-out. I just have to wait until inspiration strikes me again!

You can see more of Krystel’s work on her DeviantArt account, at http://bandotaku.deviantart.com

2 Responses to "Amigurumi Spock by Bandotaku, DeviantArt"

would love the pattern for spock if its in English please

Hi Debbie. You will have to ask the person who created this Spock. She is on DeviantArt, if you would like to send her a message, here is a link to her page: http://milesofcrochet.deviantart.com/art/Spock-Amigurumi-377682580

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

